Recommendation: Effaclar & Effaclar Duo

 

It’s a high time to write a new recommendation for you, don’t you think? After writing about a perfect medium/full covering foundation, and a hair mask, it’s now turn for a clearance!

When I started having problems with my skin (do you know what I’m talking about? Sometimes shiny, sometimes a spot here and there… well you get the idea. No one’s skin’s perfect.) my dermatologist recommended me those two.

The brand La Roche-Posay is quite well known all over the world (they produce cosmetics for over 30 years now). They specialize in sensitive skin problems, and have quite a wide range of products for all skin types. Cosmetics for skin with imperfections come with Effaclar name. And that’s what I am gonna talk to you about now.

There are 10 products in this category, which you can see here. However I only have been using Effaclar gel (left in the photo above) and Effaclar Duo (right) for what seems two years now.

Purifying Foaming Gel does what they say. It gently cleanses your face without irritating it, also affects emission of sebum (also regulates your skin pH), giving you fresh and clrean skin for hours. However I cannot tell weather it helps for imperfections as I was only using it with Effaclar Duo (but when I wasn’t using this particular gel before applying Effaclar Duo, I haven’t noticed any increase of imperfections). It also isn’t the best product to wash away you make-up (you can wash off foundation but for eg. mascara I recommend something different).

Effaclar Duo – well I’m in love with this one. It helps immediately. Only after first use you can see a different and using it regularly makes quite a change to your skin – no more imperfections nor shining problems. It fights against bacteria whose brings the acne and also unclogges pores. Consequently your skind really is smoother and cleaner.

However because of the ingredients used for this cream, you better monitor your skin if it’s not starting to dry up. They advise to use it twice a day (mornings and evenings), but from my experience you may only need to use it once (if you don’t have big skin problems). Most time I only use it in the mornings and in the evenings I use moisturizing one (otherwise my skin on the nose and cheeks starts to dry up and as you know it doesn’t look good then).

But please remember to choose cometics accordingly to YOUR skin type and skin problems. What is good for one may not be good for other 🙂

Average price – Effaclar gel:  $22.00 / £9.00 / PLN35.00 for 200ml (also available in 400ml)

Average price – Effaclar Duo: $28.00 / £13,00 / PLN49.00 for 40ml

2 Comments on “Recommendation: Effaclar & Effaclar Duo”

  1. Ooh, definitely a brand to add to my “to try” list. My skin has been terrible since I moved to London – the water and air here are filthy compared to Scotland, and anything that helps clear up my skin is a must!

    • madeleine says:

      really? hehe, when I was in London my skin actually got better itself (I think the water and air there are actually better than in Krakow). and when I came back to Poland it’s problematic again 😦

      [I also think that thermal water spray helps during a day but I’m still running some ‘tests’ so I cannot recommend any particular yet).


Leave a Reply

