Espadrille wedges – ultimate summer footwear

On Tuesday my beloved friend asked me to go shopping with her. Obviously I happily agreed. She wanted to buy shoes to match her new colorful summer dress and had no clue what to buy. We went to a store and she started looking… and it made me thinking about perfect summer shoes. Sandals? Obvious. Wedges? Yeah.  Sandal wedges? Market is actually overflown with them. Espadrille? Not really. Feet just don’t look good in them. Espadrille wedges? Yes! Perfect! Light, summerish and well, just perfect. So I chose black espadrille wedges and handled them to her – she bought them 🙂

For those of you who doesn’t know. Espadrille is a textile shoe on braid sole (it orginated from France, where was worn by unwealthy people).  Nowadays espadrille wedges can be both textile or leather on braid straw.

Mine are actually made of eco-leather:

(I will make an outfit post featuring them, but right now I don’t have a camera to take photos.) (My parents took it for their weekend holidays.) (I took those photos before they took off.) (So next week, ok?)

The unique straw gives espadrilles a sense of lightness (even if they are sky high). Wedge gives stability – they are really easy to walk in and suit foot perfectly while walking. Moreover they match almost all summer outfits, and depending on a pattern can be both funky or elegant.

I think it’s the only type of footwear that conjoins only with summer (well, thanks to recent catwalk trends sandals don’t count. Yes, I’m talking about the socks+sandals trend.)

So acknowledging all of that I want to buy myself another pair (the pair above I have for more than a year now)!  I searched the web, and found some. Let’s have a quick look.

1. Belle Sigerson Morrison (strappy lettice espadrille wedges)

2. Miu Miu (leather wedge espadrilles)

3. Belle Sigerson Morrison (leather espadrille wedges)

4. Paloma Barcelo (marina suede espadrille wedges)

5. Zara (multicoluored jute wedge)

6. Zara (raffia wedge platforms)

7. H&M (straw and canvas wedge sandals)

8. H&M (imitation leather wedges)

I can’t decide what type of espadrille I should go for now. Black, elegant one or playful&colorful one for daytime summer outfits? What are your picks?

9 Comments on “Espadrille wedges – ultimate summer footwear”

  1. Conny says:

    Yeah, all of these wedges are great! I love the ones by Miu Miu and the multicoloured by Zara. Once I’ve had a really cheap pair of Espandrilles in red that broke after wearing them for some weeks 😦 So I think the next time I will spend a little more money on them!

    • madeleine says:

      I bought mine at http://bucikowo.pl/ (they run a version in German as well), brand ‘Wild Diva’ – they were really cheap (esp. because I bought them back in March last year) and they still look like new ones 🙂 [I also bought there a pair of boots from a different brand and they are great as well, so I can recommend this site :)]

  2. Madi says:

    I love the bronze wedges! I have a pair of bronze wedges from wild diva too, except mine are from a few years ago. But theyre still everyones favorite when i wear them out! Charlotte Russe always has a good selection. I work there, and its so hard because I want to buy every shoe they have! LOL. Anyway have a happy weekend!

    • madeleine says:

      haha. yeah, that’s why I can’t imagine working at shoes nor clothing store – it would be pure pain everyday not to buy stuff :p
      Have a nice one too! 🙂

  3. fefinio says:

    I live espadrilles, they look great on summer, I got espadrille-flats but want more :D:D nice blog…

  4. The Zara espadrille’s (no. 5) are must haves! Love this post! I also love big cork wedges!

  5. This blog is very informative , I am really pleased to post my comment on this blog .
    Nice site! I am loving it!! Will come back again ??taking you feeds also, Thanks.


Leave a Reply

